Will Scully-Power


Customer Loyalty :: Optus Well Done!
September 24, 2009, 11:34 pm
Filed under: Social Media, Twitter | Tags: , ,

Optus Logo

Dear Optus,

I would like to formally thank and congratulate you on your social media  response to my bill enquiry.

Last night at 7:00pm you disconnected my mobile phone due to an overdue payment. I had been in San Francisco and therefore missed my payment date.  

I called your bill enquiry line at 7:30pm only to have a pre-recorded voice tell me, “I’m sorry, but our bill enquiry line is open Monday to Friday 8.30am – 6:00pm, please call back then.”

I then sent a direct ‘tweet’ to www.twitter.com/optus with my enquiry.

This morning by 8.30am I recieved a direct ‘tweet’ back from Scott, from Optus’s social media response team.

“Hi Will, I have restored your service, however you have an amount of $762.93 that is currently owed on your account. Thanks – Scott”

I then sent a reply  ‘tweet’ back with: “Thanks Scott. Appreciate your prompt response. Will write a blog post on this positive experience at https://willscullypower.wordpress.com

Within 10 mins I recieved a reply back from Scott on Optus’s Social Media Response Team: “WOW. Thanks Will, I will definitely keep an eye out for it. Appreciate the great feedback. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. – Scott”

This ladies and gentleman is a perfect example of how companies are using ‘Consumer Data” aka ‘Social Media Data’ to retain customers and keep them loyal to the brand.

I will be sure to include this experience as part of my address at Loyalty Marketing Day next week in Sydney (www.loyaltymarketingday.com.au).

Well done Optus!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

